Members Login

Yara Prize 2015: Nominations now open

April 8, 2015

As part of the company’s centennial celebration in 2005 – and in response to the call for an African Green Revolution – Yara launched its prize to recognize outstanding contributions to African agriculture. In 2015, the Yara Prize will have a special focus on youth, women and agribusiness in Africa. The prize will also consider strongly those individuals who have contributed towards catalysing transformational change in support of an African Green Revolution.

A large part of African farmers are smallholders, still largely operating on a subsistence level – and a great number of them are women. With few assets, including title to their land, smallholders are vulnerable to changing environments, financial or climatic. Agriculture is still the sector employing most people, but output has lagged behind population increase, leaving Africa in a dire situation when it comes to food security. African smallholder farmers are food vulnerable, often suffering from hunger. Key ways to rectify these imbalances are to make agriculture a profitable business and to help peasants become entrepreneurs.

The Yara Prize for a Green Revolution in Africa recognizes significant contributions to the reduction of hunger and poverty in Africa. The Prize honors endeavors that increase food productivity, security or availability through improvements in food systems, advancements in sustainable agriculture and development of local markets – and encourages innovation and entrepreneurship.

The Yara Prize was awarded annually in the years 2005–2009 and reinstituted in 2012 in connection with the African Green Revolution Forum in Arusha, Tanzania. The laureates represent a diverse range of African society engaged in the African Green Revolution: entrepreneurs and scientists, activists and organizers, businessmen and politicians.

After participating in the UN’s Hunger Task Force Yara established the prize as a way to encourage the development of African agriculture and food production – connected both to the call for an African Green Revolution and to the UN’s Millennium Development Goals. The Task Force recommended interventions aimed to increase food output and combat hunger, including the need to provide growers with inputs and improve their access to output markets. The prize consists of a USD 60,000 grant, a glass trophy and a diploma. Winners are chosen by the Yara Prize Committee.

Prize objectives:

  • The Yara Prize shall recognize outstanding contributions to sustainable food production with socio-economic impact in the smallholder sector
  • The Yara Prize shall recognize food and nutrition security and sustainable agricultural initiatives with a transformative power and serve as inspiration for action to scale up the African green revolution
  • The Yara Prize shall increase awareness of social and environmental conditions in Africa and the prevailing dynamics affecting agriculture and food and nutrition security
  • The Yara Prize shall provide inspirational example(s) of African leadership

The Yara Prize can be awarded to any individual or identifiable group of individuals, as well as to established institutions, associations, organizations or government bodies with a formal and recognized judicial and organizational structure contributing to the overall objectives of the Prize.

The Prize can be awarded to any qualified candidate, irrespective of nationality, profession or location, whose work, and contributions deriving from the work, has had a clear impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent.

The Prize can be awarded with reference to a specific contribution or achievement, or a series of efforts and results; recently or in the past, or over a period of time - judged as viable and in accordance with acknowledged principles of sustainability.

Current or recent members of the Yara Prize Committee, or an institution/organization headed by such a member, are ineligible for the Prize. The Prize cannot be awarded to a person already deceased, but will be presented in the event a Prize winner dies before receiving the Prize.

The Prize can be awarded to more than one winner, but not more than two. If shared, each winner will receive equal prize money (USD 60 000 divided in two), a diploma and a trophy.

Nomination criteria

The Yara Prize can be awarded to any qualified candidate(s) recognized for their contributions to reducing hunger and poverty in Africa. The Yara Prize shall have a focus on food; the improvement of sustainable food production and availability and the development of local markets in Africa, as a contribution to reduce hunger and poverty.

In 2015, the Yara Prize will have a special focus on; youth, women and agribusiness in Africa. The prize will also consider strongly those individuals who have contributed towards catalyzing transformational change in support of an African Green Revolution.

The Prize recognizes such efforts and results in any field of work clearly related to combating hunger and reducing poverty in Africa, within every aspect of agriculture and food production supporting the development of both the input and the output market, particularly:

Food and nutrition security and sustainable agriculture 

  • Food production and availability
  • Creation of agricultural value chains and local markets
  • Sustainable intensification in the smallholder sector
  • Human nutrition
  • National policies and politics to enhance awareness of the importance of agricultural inputs and promote sustainable food production methods
  • Soil and water management

Transformative change 

  • Well-proven leadership
  • African owned and led
  • Sustainability of the initiative
  • Initiatives moving to scale or with potential to move to scale 


The Yara Prize will honor outstanding contributions within any of the qualifying fields of activity, based on the Yara Prize Committee’s research into and deliberations of the nominees´ work and an evaluation of their achievements. 
In its assessments, Yara Prize Committee will particularly emphasize proven, tangible results and value creation derived from the nominee’s work, directly or indirectly, with regard to improvement of sustainable agriculture and food and nutrition security in Africa.

In its deliberations, the Prize Committee will furthermore emphasize the value of the nominees’ achievements with regard to visionary thinking, their role as motivator and rallying point in the campaign against hunger and poverty, as well as their inclination to share knowledge and cooperate.

The Prize Committee will also consider the circumstances under which the work has been carried out and results achieved; i.e. the complexity of the problem and the difficulties, hostilities or prejudices encountered.

To be eligible for the Prize, a nomination must be submitted in writing, in English or French. Please use these guidelines to ensure that we can properly evaluate your nomination. Full guidelines in both English and French can be downloaded from the links to the right.

In order to be considered by the Prize Committee, all nominations and supporting documentation must be received by June 19, 2015.

All nominations are confidential and the identity of the nominator, or nominating organization, will be kept in confidence.

Nominations should be sent to:

The Yara Prize 2015 
Attn: Svein Flatebø 
Address: Yara Prize Secretariat, P.O. Box 343 Skøyen, N-0213 Oslo, Norway 
Tel: + 47 97 65 79 90 

More information about how to structure your nomination can be found here: